Jim O’Rourke – Simple Songs

http://www.npr.org/player/embed/404723495/405185669*

Not my typical post today, seeing as this is an album rather than an individual song, but I had to mention it as I can’t remember the last time I checked out a streamed album online and listened to the entire thing in one gobsmacked sitting.  As such, I reckon this is destined to be a classic; it already sounds timeless like say, The Band’s eponymous album.

Jim O’Rourke has never really done much for me – what I’ve heard has been self-consciously difficult or wilfully obscure (to me, not everyone – I appreciate that!) But here, the quality is just so high in all respects – the song-writing keeps you hooked in even though there’s huge complexity and fluidity of orchestration and arrangements.

Anyway, I’ll be buying a copy on release day – May 19th (on Drag City).

*apologies for not being able to embed the link – WordPress no likee.

Leave a Reply

